I am very pro social media. At first I was very reluctant. I didn’t even get a Twitter account until a little over a year ago and was one of the last of my friends to finally give in and get a Facebook account my high school sophomore year. Over the past few years, I have definitely grown to love it. Not only is it exhilarating to see your likes, views, and followers increase, but it’s an extremely cool way to document your life.

What I love most about social media is being able to connect with dancers. I follow all of my favorite and most inspiring dancers on both Twitter and Instagram to see what they are doing in the dance world every day. I am fascinated by their careers and love that I get the opportunity to peek inside the life of a real professional dancer through social media. If you’re feeling a little skeptical about whether or not people can actually make connections through it, I’ve got a little story for you.

A little over a month ago I was OBSESSED with this new John Legend song that had just come out called “Made to Love.” I tweeted about how much I liked it with the hashtag #madetolove. The next day checking my feed and connections I saw that someone I’d never heard of had tweeted at me. Someone named Dominic-Lawrence tweeted that he loved the song too and had choreographed a dance to it and provided the link to the video. To be honest, I was a little skeptical. Really good dancers wouldn’t actually reach out to me on Twitter, right?

I was wrong. I watched the video and loved it. It was amazing; which is exactly what I tweeted back at Dominic. He responded saying thank you and favorited and retweeted my original response to him. Because of this initial interaction through a random connection on Twitter, I now follow him on YouTube to see what other pieces he’s choreographing and working on.

Here is the video he introduced me to, if you’re curious.

Lawrence, D. [Dominic Lawrence]. (2014, Feb. 6). “Made To Love” – John Legend – Official Choreography by Dominic Lawrence [Video].

This is exactly what I’m talking about folks. Using social media to make people know your name and your work as a dancer. It worked for Dominic and it can definitely work for you.

Lawrence, D. [Dominic Lawrence]. (2014, Feb. 6). “Made To Love” – John Legend – Official Choreography by Dominic Lawrence [Video]. Retrieved online from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90psTDN_OZM

 

